• The Only Space

Event- UK- Revolution is Not a One-time Event



Silverpress Presents: Revolution is Not a One-time event an abolition series


Join activists, academics and artists as they reflect on abolitionist praxis and thought, exploring covergences with gender, poetry, technology, performance, speculation, aesthetics, film and culture. This online series of events commemorates Black August and is for anyone who wishes to answer the abolitionist call to action and thought.


Please see schedule below:


Each Monday in August, starting at 7pm BST, 2pm EDT, 11am PDT. 


3 August: The Master’s Tools Will Never Dismantle the Master’s House: Abolitionist Feminist Futures Gail Lewis, Miss Major, Zoé Samudzi and Hortense Spillers, chaired by Akwugo Emejulu (Sold Out)


10 August: Poetry is Not a Luxury: The Poetics of Abolition Saidiya Hartman, Canisia Lubrin, Nat Raha and Christina Sharpe, chaired by Nydia A. Swaby (Sold out)


17 August: System Errors: Abolitionist Technologies and Aesthetics American Artist, Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley and Sondra Perry, chaired by Legacy Russell


24 August: Happy Birthday, Marsha! — adrienne maree brown, Black Obsidian Sound System and Tourmaline, chaired by Lola Olufemi


Please find link to tickets here.

Contact

Follow

©2018 by The Only Space.